top of page

Regional Center

DDS oversees the coordination and delivery of services for Californians with developmental disabilities through a statewide network of 21 community-based, non-profit agencies known as regional centers. Regional centers provide assessments, determine eligibility for services, and offer case management services. Regional centers also develop, purchase, and coordinate the services in each person’s Individual Program Plan.

Kid Playing with Wooden Toys

BTT's Regional Centers Served

Harbor Regional Center

Currently serving the catchment area of:

Bellflower, Carson*, Downey, Long Beach, Artesia, Lakewood, Cerritos, Hawaiian Gardens, Torrance*, and Norwalk.

Other cities within harbor regional catchment areas may be considered upon request.  

San Gabriel Pomona Regional Center

Currently serving the catchment area of: Rowland Heights, Hacienda Heights

Other cities within San Gabriel Pomona regional catchment areas may be considered upon request.  

Regional Center of Orange County

Currently serving the catchment area of: La Palma, Cypress, Buena Park, Los Alamitos, Anaheim, Stanton, Fullerton, Garden Grove, Orange, La Habra, and Brea.

Other cities within orange county regional catchment areas may be considered upon request.  

Regional Center Lookup

California has 21 regional centers with more than 40 offices located throughout the state.  The catchment area boundaries for the regional centers conform to county boundaries or groups of counties, except in Los Angeles County, which is by health districts and not by county.

Regional Center Eligibility 

Eligibility is established through diagnosis and assessment performed by the  Regional Centers.

Infants and toddlers (age 0 to 36 months) who are at risk of having developmental disabilities or who have a developmental delay may also qualify for services. The criteria for determining the eligibility of infants and toddlers is specified in Section 95014 of the California Government Code. In addition, individuals at risk of having a child with a developmental disability may be eligible for genetic diagnosis, counseling and other prevention services. For information about these services, see Early Start.

Regional Center Eligibility and Services 

Step 1:

Find the assigned regional center for you by visiting

Step 2:

Fill out an intake form. An intake coordinator will then contact you to begin the process.

Step 3:

Regional center will provide a diagnosis and assessment of eligibility, free of charge. Based on the evaluation results, an Individualized Family Service Plan (IFSP) will be established.

Step 4:

A case manager, or service coordinator, will then contact you to help you coordinate and receive these services.

Step 5:

A provider will be chosen that fits your needs, such as availability, type of service(s), location (in clinic or in-home), and preferred language.

bottom of page